An Abandoned Farmhouse On Long Island Sat Untouched For Forty Years

The House Was Built Before The Civil War

The farmhouse is located in the hamlet of Commack in Suffolk County, New York. Commack is a “census-designated place” that was named by the Secatogue Native Americans who used to live there. Covering a total of 12 square miles, Commack is known for its fertile soil and wooded lands.

shutters surround a window
Photo credit: Bryan Sansivero
Photo credit: Bryan Sansivero

Today nearly all of the area is suburbanized, which makes the Marion Carll Farm site that much more unique. The farmstead dates all the way back to 1701, with the house being constructed just before the beginning of the Civil War.